In order to recognize outstanding contributions to Residence Life, the Residence Life Professional Association is pleased to recognize and reward professionals that are new to Residence Life or the RLPA. The award has an added benefit of encouraging new professionals to stay in residence life and the RLPA. All members of the RLPA are encouraged to nominate deserving individuals. Nominations can be forwarded to any member of the executive.

The executive will evaluate and select the award recipient. The award will be presented during the RLPA Annual General Meeting. The criteria upon which nominations will be evaluated are as follows:

  • Open to all new Residence Life Professionals working full-time at a post secondary¬†institution that is a member of the RLPA for less than 5 years.
  • Active involvement in Residence Life and the RLPA.
  • Innovative or creative work within Residence Life.
  • Indication of significant leadership potential in the Residence Life Profession.

For questions regarding this award, or if you are nominating a current executive member, please contact the President-Elect.

Past Award Winners

newprofessional award 2015

Alena Boczek and Alana Turner Accept the New Professional Award at the 2015 AGM.

2008 Tim Siemens Red Deer College
2009 Brett Phillips University of Alberta
2010 Jim Fowler Grant MacEwan University
2011 Judy Eyben Lakeland College
2012 Laura Huxley MacEwan University
2013 Angela Chappell University of Alberta, Augustana Campus
2014 Nicky Renault MacEwan University
2015 Alana Turner / Alena Boczek University of Alberta / Mount Royal University
2016 Kristin Davick Mount Royal University
2017 Meghan Reiser /Dillon Andrus University of Alberta / Red Deer College
2018 Christine Zapisocki University of the Fraser Valley

Jesara Nichol / Sara McCrae

University of Lethbridge/University of Alberta Augustana Campus
2020 Auburn Phillips University of Lethbridge
2021 Zac Young University of Alberta


Share This