This Honour, originally termed the Outstanding Professionals Service Award, is given to a professional staff member within the RLPA for their outstanding contributions to student service.

In order to recognize outstanding contributions to Residence Life, the Residence Life Professional Association is pleased to continue giving an Outstanding Service Award. The award is named after someone who made a significant contribution to Residence Life in Western Canada. All members of the RLPA are encouraged to nominate deserving individuals. The Executive Board will evaluate and select the award recipient and present the award during the RLPA Annual General Meeting.

The award criteria is as follows:

  • Outstanding contributions to the RLPA through participation at the executive or committee levels.
  • Outstanding contributions to Residence Life within post-secondary institution within Alberta, BC, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, or the Territories.
  • Exemplary record in service as a mentor to other Residence Life professionals or Resident Assistants.
  • Successful implementation of unique or innovative programs contributing to the betterment of Residence Life at an institutional or provincial level.

Learn more about Josie Lamothe and her contributions to the RLPA and field of Residence Life by clicking here.

For questions regarding this award, or if you are nominating a current executive member, please contact the President-Elect.

Past Award Winners

1997 Lorne Williams University of Lethbridge
1998 Jan Finney University of Calgary
1999 Glenice Grover Red Deer College
2000 Margot Bell University of Alberta
2001 Tracey Mason University of Alberta
2002 Dima Utgoff University of Alberta
2003 Mark Chytracek Augustana University College
2006 Sylvia Cholodniuk University of Saskatchewan
2007 Randy Fines Lakeland College
2008 Dima Utgoff University of Alberta
2009 Janet Athenasiou University of Alberta – Augustana
2010 Not Awarded N/A
2011 Nanci Krushelnicki College of New Caledonia
2012 Brianna McElroy Mount Royal University
2013 Chris Fukushima University of Alberta
2014 Craig Whitton University of Alberta
2015 Glenda Staples Medicine Hat College

Share This